Faculty and Staff

Our faculty of performers, composers, scholars and researchers are dedicated to providing our student body with a rich musical environment and an excellent education through private lessons, large and small ensembles, mentoring and highly interactive classes.

Our nearly 200 faculty and staff members include winners of prizes from the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Endowment for the Arts, Grammy Awards, Emmy Awards, Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, Guggenheim Fellowship, Fulbright Fellowship and are soloists with opera companies and symphony orchestras across the globe.


José M. Aponte

Principal Lecturer of Drumset and Latin Percussion
Director of the Latin Jazz Lab Band
Director of Afro-Cuban ensemble
Director of Brazilian ensemble

Tony Baker

Professor of Trombone

Jennifer Barnes

Professor of Vocal Jazz
Coordinator of Vocal Jazz Studies
Director of Jazz Singers

Alan Baylock

Associate Professor
Director of the One O'Clock Lab Band®
Coordinator of Lab Bands

Rodney Booth

Principal Lecturer of Jazz Trumpet

Quincy Davis

Associate Professor of Percussion (Jazz Drumset)
Faculty Development Leave Fall 2023

Richard DeRosa

Professor of Jazz Composition and Arranging
Director of Three O'Clock Lab Band

Philip Dizack

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trumpet - Improvisation Emphasis
Coordinator of Jazz Chamber Music

Rosana Eckert

Principal Lecturer of Vocal Jazz

Nick Finzer

Associate Professor of Jazz Trombone

Stockton Helbing

Adjunct Instructor - Percussion (Jazz Drum Set)

Noel Johnston

Adjunct Instructor - Jazz Guitar

Brad Leali

Professor of Jazz Saxophone

Federico Llach

Assistant Professor of Commercial Music
Commercial Music Coordinator

Craig Marshall

Adjunct Instructor - Jazz Studies
Program Manager for Jazz Lab Band

Dave Meder

Associate Professor of Jazz Piano
Coordinator of Improvisation

Paul Metzger

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar

Davy Mooney

Associate Professor of Jazz Studies (Guitar)

Jessica Muñiz-Collado

Assistant Professor of Music Business

Rob Parton

Professor of Jazz Trumpet – Lead Trumpet Emphasis
Chair of the Division of Jazz Studies
Director of the Two O'Clock Lab Band

Lynn Seaton

Regents Professor of Jazz Bass

Kimberly Hannon Teal

Associate Professor of Jazz History and Research

Scott Tixier

Associate Professor of Jazz Violin
Director of Jazz String Lab

Craig Marshall

Adjunct Instructor - Jazz Studies
Program Manager for Jazz Lab Band

Michael Martin

Administrative Coordinator, Division of Jazz Studies