UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

Main menu

Division of Instrumental Studies

The Division of Instrumental Studies is one of the largest and most comprehensive instrumental faculties in the world, with 39 full-time Artist/Teacher faculty as well 13 adjunct faculty drawn from professional Dallas-Ft. Worth ensembles.

The division offers Bachelor of Music, Master of Music, and Doctor of Musical Arts performance degrees with specialization in: violin, viola, violoncello, double bass, harp, guitar, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, saxophone, trumpet, French horn, trombone, euphonium, tuba, percussion, and multiple woodwinds. Current and former students have won prizes in major instrumental competitions of every genre, and are appointed to professional positions in orchestras, wind symphonies, and universities/conservatories spanning the world.


  • Bachelor of Music
  • Master of Music
  • Doctor of Musical Arts

Each with major in performance and specialization: bassoon, clarinet, double bass, euphonium, flute, French horn, guitar, harp, oboe, percussion, saxophone, trombone (bass and tenor), trumpet, viola, violin, violoncello, voice

Area Websites


Adjunct Faculty

Contact Information

Christine Hill