Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award

The Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award is presented annually to a student entering their senior year who has shown extraordinary musical and academic accomplishments. The Presser award is considered the most prestigious undergraduate honor in music at the University of North Texas and is provided by the Presser Foundation that awards annual scholarships, grants and funds for the furthering of music education and music in America.

In perpetuity, the recipients are referred to as Presser Scholars.

The winner is nominated by College of Music faculty and selected by the College of Music Council of Division Chairs. The scholarship has been awarded annually for more than six decades.

About the Presser Foundation

The Presser Foundation was established in 1939 under the Deeds of Trust and Will of the late Theodore Presser. It is one of the few private foundations in the United States dedicated solely to music education and music philanthropy. It is their hope that every institution, organization and individual funded by The Presser Foundation will read about the rich history of The Foundation and the inspiring biography of Theodore Presser.


UNT College of Music Presser Undergraduate Scholars

2022-2023: Matthew Dexter, voice

2021-2022: Luke Vanek, music education/saxophone

2020-2021: Amrutha Murthy, music education/flute performance

2019-2020: Landon Chang, saxophone

2018-2019: Samuel Miyashita, music theory/composition**

2018-2019: Ruth Mertens, harp**

2017-2018: Maggie Ng, oboe

2016-2017: Gregory Santa Croce, jazz piano and organ

2015-2016: Brendon Wilkins, music education/jazz flute and saxophone

2014-2015: Danielle Cordray, harp

2013-2014: Alyssa Narum, voice

2012-2013: Sarah Tran, music education/flute

2011-2012: Charlene (Charley) Gilstrap, flute

2010-2011: Ashley Mendeke, music education/flute

2009-2010: Samuel Reid, music education/jazz studies, saxophone

2008-2009: María José Romero Ramos, violin

2007-2008: Yennifer Correia, violin

2006-2007: Mark Scott, music composition, trombone

2005-2006: Renata van der Vyver, viola

2004-2005: Daniel Stipe, organ and piano

2003-2004: Andreas Berg, jazz guitar

2002-2003: Shawna Hamilton, cello

2001-2002: Elliot Figg, music composition, harpsichord

2000-2001: Sara Sheffield, voice

1999-2000: Jessie Hinkle, voice

1998-1999: Candis Threlkeld (Bradshaw), oboe

1997-1998: Michael Schneider, piano

1996-1997: Madeline Adkins, violin

1995-1996: Rosana Calderon (Eckert), horn

1994-1995: Alexandra Adkins (Wenig), violin

1993-1994: Marcus Lynn Roberts, music education, euphonium

1992-1993: Kimberly Stephenson, music education, clarinet

1991-1992: Mark Hunt, horn

1990-1991: Kimberly Cole (Luevano), clarinet

1989-1990: Clare Adkins (Cason), violin

1988-1989: James Quentin Bell, viola

1987-1988: David Matthews, oboe

1986-1987: Laura Finnell, music education, bassoon

1985-1986: Cynthia Thompson, music education, trumpet

1984-1985: Jennifer Allen, oboe

1983-1984: John Korak, MUED, trumpet

1982-1983: Barbara Ingraham, horn

1981-1982: Mitch Maxwell, cello

1980-1981: Ms. Lee Seibert, bassoon

1979-1980: Deborah Ragsdale, flute

1978-1979: Diane Petty, piano

1977-1978: Elisabeth Adkins (Newman), violin
                Timothy Vaughn, music education, voice

1976-1977: Barbara Zickler Hall, music education, clarinet
               Peter Nelson, music education, horn

1975-1976: Terry Hawkins, music education, voice
               Michael Daugherty, music education, jazz keyboard

1974-1975: Martha Whitmore, voice
               Douglas Gibb, trumpet

1973-1974: Marc A. Johnson, double bass and electric bass
               Maryann Mickle, harp

1972-1973: Harriet Wiles, voice
               Steve Paxton, music composition, bass

1971-1972: Judy Jonson, piano
               Barbara Molinare, violin

1970-1971: John R. Hall, cello
               Ann Rebecca Thurmond, violin

1969-1970: David Eugene Philly, piano
                Ann Rebecca Thurmond, violin

1968-1969: Marilyn Rietz, cello
               W. Lane Allen, violin

1967-1968: Roxanna Hoover, violin
               June Nickerson, violin

1966-1967: Janet Remine, violin
                Kathleen Keithly, alto

1965-1966: * David Breeden, clarinet
               Lurline Speer, music education, organ

1964-1965: Margaret Mitchell, organ
                James Stanford, violin

1963-1964: Carol Ann Reglin, flute
                James Rivers, piano

1962-1963: Cecilia Knox, piano
                Cary Lewis, piano

1961-1962: Nancy Hartman, soprano
               Graham Clarke, organ

1960-1961: Carl Moehlman, organ
               Pat Dougherty, voice

1959-1960: Sylvia Brummett, music education, violin and horn
               Kristin Webb, flute

1958-1959: Jerry Voorhees, music education, bassoon
               W. Sherwood Dudley, trumpet

1957-1958: John Matejowsky, trumpet
               Wilna Buckingham, piano

1956-1957: Anita Anderson (Wright), music education, violin
               *Stanley Potter, piano

1955-1956: Leon Nedbalek, music composition and theory, trumpet
               Merriam Godfrey (Paul), oboe

1954-1955: Bennie Middaugh, baritone
                Emily High (Hartnett), MUED, piano

1953-1954: Grace Grainger, voice
                Susan Houser, voice

1952-1953: * Dale Peters, theory/organ
               Carolyn Kaps, viola

1951-1952: * Jack Roberts, piano
               Nancy Wright, voice

1951 and Before:
               *Mary Nan Hudgins (Mailman), piano
               Robert Jenkins, percussion
               Mary Jane Sullivan, clarinet
               Anita Harvey, harp
               * Barton Cantrell, clarinet
               Lou Ann Hardy, violin

**Change in Presser Foundation dating resulted in Mertens being designated 2018-2019 scholar in spring 2018, and Miyashita being designated 2018-2019 scholar in spring 2019.