Faculty and Staff

Our faculty of performers, composers, scholars and researchers are dedicated to providing our student body with a rich musical environment and an excellent education through private lessons, large and small ensembles, mentoring and highly interactive classes.

Our nearly 200 faculty and staff members include winners of prizes from the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Endowment for the Arts, Grammy Awards, Emmy Awards, Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, Guggenheim Fellowship, Fulbright Fellowship and soloists with opera companies and symphony orchestras across the globe.


Cyriel Aerts

Director of Piano Services

Destiny Andrews

Assistant Director for Event Management

Michelle Aponte

Assistant to the Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Registration Manager

Dolores August

Career Development Specialist

Cherése Bassett-Sowell

Executive Director of Development

Jordan Batson

Administrative Assistant to Associate Dean for Operations

Maria Baylock

Executive Administrative Assistant to the Dean of the College of Music

Ben Bigby

Senior IT Support Manager

Giant Boykin

Development Support Coordinator

Grant Carrington

Senior Academic Advisor

HsinHsiung "Willy" Chen

Audio Reinforcement Specialist

Sveva Clay

Assistant Director of Recording Services

Heather Coffin

Administrative Coordinator for Wind Studies

Colleen Conlon

Senior Graduate Academic Counselor

Diana Cooley

Administrative Coordinator for Conducting and Ensembles, Keyboard Studies and Vocal Studies

Justin Cooper

Musical Instrument Repair Coordinator/Brass Repair Technician

Jo Darmon

Associate Academic Advisor

Molly Fillmore

Professor of Voice
Chair of the Division of Vocal Studies

Casey Goldman

Associate Director of Community Engagement and Collaboration

Sarah Goocher

Assistant Director of Admissions
Camps Coordinator

Jaymee Haefner

Associate Professor of Harp
Director of Graduate Studies

Blake Hardesty

Graphic Design Specialist

Matt Hardman

Director of Communications, Marketing and Public Relations

Steven Harlos

Professor of Piano
Professor of Collaborative Piano
Chair of Keyboard Studies

Warren Henry

Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Music Education

Julie Hohman

Technical Director

William Karceski

Program Project Specialist

Katy Kinard

Senior Administrative Coordinator for Awards and Admissions

Scott Krejci

Computer Systems Manager

Ana Lemons

Director of Development

Stephen Lucas

Lead Creative Programmer

Joel MacMillan

Instrument Technician for Strings

Emilita Marin

Assistant Dean for Business and Finance

Craig Marshall

Adjunct Instructor - Jazz Studies
Program Manager for Jazz Lab Band

Austin Martinez

Director of Recording Services

Melissa Minick

Senior Academic Counselor

Alejandro Miranda

Piano Technician

Mark Montemayor

Associate Professor of Music Education
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Music Academic Integrity Liaison to the Office of Academic Affairs

Vickie Napier

Administrative Assistant for Budget and Purchasing

Jon Nelson

Professor of Composition
Interim Chair of the Division of Composition Studies, Fall 2023
Coordinator of the Music Electronics Curriculum

Carole Overturf

Administrative Coordinator in the Division of Instrumental Studies

Rob Parton

Associate Professor of Jazz Trumpet – Lead Trumpet Emphasis
Chair of the Division of Jazz Studies
Director of the Two O'Clock Lab Band

Brennan Scott Pierce

​Computer Lab Supervisor

Carol Pollard

Director of Undergraduate Advising

Sean Robert Powell

Professor of Music Education
Chair of the Division of Music Education

Alexander Ravitz

Undergraduate Academic Counselor

John W. Richmond

Dean of the College of Music
Professor of Music Education

Caden Ridge

Graduate Academic Counselor

Daniel Rodrigues

Woodwind Repair Technician

Raymond Rowell

Assistant Dean for Scholarships and External Affairs

Laura Russell

Administrative Coordinator for the Division of Music History/Theory/Ethnomusicology (MHTE), Music Education and Composition Studies Divisions

Madison Russell

Administrative Coordinator
Division of Jazz Studies

Dan Schulz

Audio Technical Director

Kirsten Soriano

Associate Dean for Operations
Associate Professor of Composition

Linda Strube

Concert Programs

Andrew Trachsel

Professor of Wind Studies
Chair of the Division of Conducting and Ensembles
Conductor of the Wind Orchestra

Sarah Trachsel

Concert & Events Scheduling Coordinator

Joel Wiley

Director of Admissions

Amy Woods

Budget Officer / Travel

Sebastian Zaberca

Assistant to the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs