Snarky Puppy, led by UNT alumnus Michael League and made up of several alumni band members, won the Grammy Award for Best
R&B Performance at the 56th Annual Grammy Awards.

Alumni Facts

Our alumni hold positions with prominent orchestras across the nation:

  • Madeline Adkins - Associate Concertmaster, Baltimore Symphony
  • Christopher Adkins - Principal Cellist, Dallas Symphony
  • Jeffrey Rathbun - Assistant Principal Oboist, Cleveland Orchestra
  • Clint Foreman - Flutist, Boston Symphony Orchestra 
  • Duain Wolfe - Conductor of the Chicago Symphony Chorus
  • Edward Stephan – timpanist, Pittsburgh Symphony
  • Joseph Kaufman – Assistant Principal Double Bass, Seattle Symphony

Alumni award winners include:

  • Grammy award nominees and winners including pianist Petronel Malan, composer Michael Daugherty, saxophonist Jeff Coffin, producer Bob Belden, singer/songwriter Norah Jones, singer Pat Boone, singer Don Henley (the Eagles)
  • Emmy award winners J. Walter Hawkes (Outstanding Achievement in Music Direction and
Composition, 2008) and Kristopher Carter (Outstanding Music Direction and Composition, 1999)
  • Winners of eminent piano competitions including the Walter Naumberg International Competition (Anthony Molinaro), the Los Angeles Liszt Competition (Eva Polgar and Bret Serrin) and the Bartók-Kabalevsky-Prokofiev International Piano Competition (John Solomons)

Alumni have been on the roster of renowned opera companies including:

  • The Metropolitan Opera (soloists include Patricia Racette, Latonia Moore, Scott Scully, Michael Mayes, Emily Pulley, Lauren McNeese, Takesha Meshé Kizart)
  • Royal Opera House, Covent Garden (Patricia Racette, Latonia Moore)
  • La Scala (Patricia Racette)

Jazz alumni can be found everywhere from on the top of the Billboard charts to the Smithsonian:

  • Tom "Bones" Malone and Frank Greene - CBS Orchestra on "The Late Show with David Letterman"
  • Jeff Coffin – saxophonist for Dave Matthews Band
  • Norah Jones – Grammy-winning pianist and singer/songwriter
  • Charlie Young – artistic director and conductor of the Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra

More than 70 alumni hold positions in premier U.S. military bands, including:

  • Half of the members of the U.S. Army Jazz Ambassadors
  • Philip Burlin – Leader of the Commodores, premier jazz ensemble of the U.S. Navy
  • Sarah Dell'Omo – Mezzo-soprano soloist with the "President's Own" Marine Band
  • Alan Baylock – chief arranger for the U.S. Air Force Airmen of Note; staff arranger for the U.S. Air Force Band
  • James Logan – clarinet for the U.S. Navy Band

More than 1,600 music educators in public schools throughout the United States are UNT alumni, including:

  • Joe Weir, past president of Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) and choir director at Humble High School in Humble, TX
  • Romana Hartmetz, recipient of 2009 MENC Teaching Music Award; guitar and orchestra teacher at Woodgrove High School in Loudon County, VA
  • Isidore L. Rudnick, Artistic Director of the School for Creative and Performing Arts in Cincinnati, OH

Alumni hold teaching and administrative positions in hundreds of U.S. colleges and universities, including:

  • Robert L. Blocker - Dean of the Yale University School of Music
  • William V. May - Dean of the Baylor University School of Music
  • Robert Walzel - Dean of the University of Kansas School of Music

Many alumni also work as leaders in commercial and nonprofit arts organizations:

  • Emily Crocker, vice president of choral publications for Hal Leonard
  • James Sogin, co-editor of the American String Teachers Association String Research Journal
  • Ray Hair, international president of the American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada