College of Music in the News

Music educators class
December 5, 2022

Celebrating 2022 Class of Music Educators

Celli Ra: Frisco, Laurel Kroesch: Carrollton-Farmers Branch, Jacob Rodriguez: Arlington, Emma Cole: Carrollton-Farmers Branch, Marisa Rivera: (Japan), Sheridan White: Arlington, Jeremy Rohwer: Plano, Helena Vassiliades: Lewisville, Sara Longoria: Coppell, Sahara Donna: Hurst-Euless-Bedford, Sarah Stehling: Arlington, Jessica Hausmann: Carrollton-Farmers Branch, Jaden Ferguson: Fort Worth, Kyle Feather: Denton, David Samuels: Mesquite, Easel Yoo: Keller, Elizabeth Whitten: Northwest, Caleb Belonga: Dallas, Jakob Benner: St. Louis PS (MO), Hannah Brayfield: Kansas City PS (KS), Gretchen Casel: Eagle Mountain Saginaw, Jordan Drake: Lake Dallas, Hayden Drew: Alvin, Amber Dyess: Keller, Matthew Garcia-Perez: Bastrop, Maria Patricia Gonzales: Irving, Dawson Hassell: Houston, Andrew Hearn: Rockwall, Shauna Heisler: Fort Worth, Charles Horn: Flour Bluff, Matthew Joslin: Frisco, Ryan King: Forney, Jerry Lefner: Alvin, Javier Lopez: Lytle, Alexandra Lyons: Frisco, Sidney Maurice: Celina, Caden Milligan: Snowline (CA), Amrutha Murthy: Palm Beach County (FL), Kodi Myles: Denton, Jeremy Pansano: Corpus Christi, Jackson Parker: Liberty, Noah Patton: Plano, Jacob Picht: Burnett, Emilio Pla: Irving, Joel Ramirez: Mabank, Luis Ramirez Perez: Spring Branch, Kohei Sakai: Forney, Julio Salinas: Brownsville, Thomas Camilo: Private Lessons Instructor, Kevin Thomas: Rockwall, Christopher Trabucchi: Rice, Rachel Trentham: Frisco, Emily Tsuhako: Kahului SD (HI), Daniel Turner: Keller, Abigail West: Red Bluff (CA), Nicole Zagorski: Frisco, Katelyn Tam: Private Lessons Teacher, Meredith Wilder: Carrolton-Farmers Branch, Summer Rhee: Lewisville, Amber Schwister: Denton, Hope Hocutt: Mead School District (WA), Logan Childs: Morrison Public Schools (OK), Diana Zavala: Dallas, Olivia Hahn: Lewisville, Nancy Killoran: Framingham (MA), Jack Fitzpatrick, Denton. All schools Texas unless noted otherwise.

December 5, 2022

Grammy Nominations 2023

Alumni and faculty from across UNT colleges and schools were nominated or part of projects nominated in the 2023 awards (people with UNT ties in bold):

Kings Return — “How Deep is your Love”
College of Music faculty member Rosana Eckert (producer) and College of Music alumnus Vaughn Faison (Kings Return member)

College of Music Alumnus Jeff Coffin — “Between Dreaming and Joy”
College of Music Alumni Michael League, Shaun Martin, Justin Stanton, Chris Bullock and Mike Maher of Snarky Puppy — “Empire Central”

UNT Alumna Maren Morris — “Humble Quest”

UNT Alumna Maren Morris — “Circles Around This Town”

UNT Alumna Maren Morris — “Circles Around This Town”

Remy Le Boeuf’s Assembly of Shadows — “Architecture of Storms”
College of Music faculty member Philip Dizack (trumpet)

UNT Alumnus Tobe Nwigwe

Metropolitan Opera — “Fire Shut Up In My Bones”
College of Music Alumna Latonia Moore as Billie

College of Music Alumna Norah Jones — “I Dream of Christmas (Extended)”

December 5, 2022

Faculty And Alumna Perform With Cleveland Orchestra

The weekend of November 17, 2022, faculty countertenor Daniel Bubeck and mezzo-soprano Josefina Maldonado (BM ‘19), were soloists performing John Adams' nativity oratorio, El Niño with Johns Adams conducting The Cleveland Orchestra and Chorus.

December 5, 2022

Faculty Member Receives Major Award

Assistant Professor of Music Theory, Andrew Chung, received recognition at the recently held annual meeting of the Society for Music Theory. He was named a recipient of the Society’s Emerging Scholar Award for his article "What is Musical Meaning? Theorizing Music as Performative Utterance" in Music Theory Online. The award recognizes “significant contributions to music theory, analysis, or history of theory.”

Christine (Belle) Cumberledge and Jack A. Eaddy, Jr.
November 30, 2022

Two Alumni Educators Named Grammy Semifinalists

Christine (Belle) Cumberledge (BM ’97), band director at Central Junior High School in Euless, Texas and Jack A. Eaddy, Jr. (DMA ’19), Assistant Professor at Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, North Carolina, named 2 of the 25 semifinalists for the Recording Academy & GRAMMY Museum 2023 Music Educator Award. The award ‘recognizes current educators who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and demonstrate a commitment to maintaining music education in schools.’

October 10, 2022

Faculty Cliburn Winner Featured

The Fort Worth Star-Telegram's Dalia Faheid featured University of North Texas Artist-in-Residence Professor of Piano, Vladimir Viardo. See the full-page advertisement honoring Vladimir Viardo in The Cliburn program book:

October 10, 2022

Faculty on Arts Engines

Rebecca Geoffroy-Schwinden, Associate Professor of Music History and Program Coordinator of the new University of North Texas Bachelor of Arts in Critical Studies in Music and Society, recently appeared on Arts Engines with Aaron Dworkin speaking about serving students though evolving curriculum.

October 10, 2022

Student Receives Military Fellowship

Renée McGee, trumpet, has been selected to receive an "Air Force Diversity Fellowship" by The United States Air Force Band and includes a residency to rehearse and perform with the Airmen of Note in Washington, DC in July. Photo: Jerry Almonte.

October 10, 2022

Professor to Chair National Committee

University of North Texas Professor Sean Powell, Chair of the Division of Music Education, has been named Chair of the Executive Committee of the Society for Music Teacher Education (SMTE). The appointment was made by National Association for Music Education President and Board Chair Scott R. Sheehan.

October 10, 2022

Incoming Graduate Student Honored

Along with his family, incoming music education graduate student, Robert T. Gibson, was honored by the NAACP Springfield, Missouri with their Community Trailblazer award for music dedication and contributions and named June 9, 2022 as Robert T. Gibson Day.

October 10, 2022

Alumna Receives Nevis Fellowship

University of North Texas Alumna Sarah Canzonetta (BM ’19) joins Glasgow Scotland's Nevis Ensemble as a fellowship recipient for the coming season. Sarah is currently an Artist Diploma Fellow at England's Royal Northern College of Music.