College of Music in the News

July 8, 2021

Green Brigade on the Cover

Check out the 2021-2022 Product Catalogue from DeMoulin Bros. and Co. – manufacturer of the new University of North Texas Green Brigade marching band uniform. They’ve been creating marching band uniforms since 1892.

July 8, 2021

Suzuki for Brass

A FIRST: Faculty and alumnus join Alfred Music in releasing Suzuki Trumpet School, Volume 1 - the very first Suzuki Method book for the brass instrument family. See Caleb Hudson, Assistant Professor of Trumpet and member of Canadian Brass along with Michael Schneider, (BM ’99), a classical pianist, collaborator, educating artist and composer.

UNT Bassists Recognized

The International Society of Bassists announced the 10 semi-finalists for the 2021 ISB Double Bass Competition Jazz Division - 4 from UNT - Michael Baylock, Alex Browne (BM ’14), Eric Hitt and Guillermo Lopez.

DMA Conducting Associate to NC

Brett Penshorn, doctoral student in wind conducting, has been named Visiting Director of Bands at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte for the 2021-2022 school year.

Murthy Named Presser Scholar

Music education and flute performance major, Amrutha Murthy, received the undergraduate Presser Award. This award, considered the most prestigious undergraduate award in music at the University of North Texas, is provided by the Presser Foundation. The recipient “should show a high level of academic and musical accomplishment and embody the qualities of leadership and citizenship. The recipient is one who has grown individually and who has contributed earnestly to the success of the school of music.” See the full list of UNT recipients:

Alumna Faculty Member Honored

Kathy Johnson, Coordinator and Instructor of Woodwind and Brass Methods, (BME ’81, MMED ’92) honored by the Texas Bandmasters Association (TBA) with the Meritorious Achievement Award. The award is presented by the TBA Board of Directors to an individual for significant contributions to music education throughout their distinguished career as a Texas Band Director.

Skillicorn Selected for Presser Graduate Award

Alexa Torres Skillicorn, MM student in jazz violin, has been chosen to receive the 2021 Presser Foundation Graduate Award. Her proposal is Ethnography of Practice: Oral History for the Development of Embodied Jazz Violin Praxis. "The program is designed to encourage and support, in a special way, the advanced education and career of truly exceptional graduate music students who have the potential to make a distinguished contribution to the field of music."

Graduate Student Receives Honor

 Júlia Coelho (PhD, Musicology; DMA, Vocal Studies) was named the 2021 Graduate Student Council Senator of the Year at the UNT President’s Award Reception for her exemplary service and, in particular, for her advocacy for inclusion, accessibility and diversity for the UNT student population.

DMA Voice Student to Illinois State

Matthew Vala (DMA completion expected August 2021) appointed as Instructional Assistant Professor in Voice beginning in the 2021–2022 academic year at the School of Music at Illinois State University.

Alumna Wins Piccolo Prize

Staff Sergeant Ashley Mendeke (BM ’11) was recently awarded First Prize in the 2021 International Kujala Competition. She is a member of the United States Military Academy at West Point field music group, The Hellcats. She was selected as the University of North Texas 2010-2011 undergraduate Presser Scholar and was recipient of the Hispanic Scholarship Fund's National Academic scholarship.

Faculty Receives Fulbright Award

Dave Meder, Assistant Professor of Jazz Piano offered The Fulbright Program United States Scholar Award for Visual and Performing Arts. The award takes him to Cairo, Egypt in 2022 to teach at the Cairo Conservatoire.