College of Music in the News

May 7, 2024

Alumna Published

Soprano Leanne Scaggs (DMA ’19) has published a modern performance edition of music by classical composer Nina d’Aubigny von Engelbrunner titled “Deutsche, Italienische und Französische Gesänge mit Begleitung des Pianoforte” (German, Italian, and French Songs with Piano Accompaniment). She is instructor of music in voice and opera at Texas A&M University in Commerce. The publisher is ClarNan Editions, a division of Classical Vocal Reprints Classical Vocal Reprints.

May 7, 2024

Two Faculty Receive Fellowships

Soprano and Professor Molly Fillmore, Chair of the Division of Vocal Studies, and Assistant Professor of Jazz Trumpet - Lead Emphasis, Philip Dizack, Division of Jazz Studies, have each been named a recipient of a 2024-2025 University of North Texas Initiative for Advancement of the Arts (IAA) Fellowship. John W. Richmond, Professor and Dean of the College of Music said, “Please join me in offering heartfelt congratulations to them for this important affirmation of their work and to Provost McPherson for his important investments in our research and creative activities!”

MOLLY FILLMORE’S work is a multi-media, interdisciplinary project culminating with a commercially released audio recording and music videos consisting of songs performed in England during the Regency era. Her collaborators Include Steven Harlos, Jaymee Haefner and Jeffrey Snider.

The Fellowship to PHILIP DIZACK will be utilized to support the composition of a large-scale work entitled "Brass Regalia." A multi-suite composition written for jazz quartet & nine-piece brass ensemble telling the story of resilience and healing from childhood trauma. The culmination of the work will include a European tour and performance including a concert at the Wiener Konzerthaus Wiener Konzerthaus as a part of their "Art of Brass" series in June 2025.

May 7, 2024

Alumna Debuts on BBC Proms

Native Texan, University of North Texas alumna, three-time Grammy winner and soprano Latonia Moore makes her debut with BBC Proms Festival performing Verdi’s "Requiem" as Ryan Bancroft conducts the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and Chorus. She will perform along with fellow soloists Karen Cargill, SeokJong Baek, Solomon Howard and the Crouch End Festival Chorus. Begun in 1895 and referred to as, “The World’s Greatest Classical Music Festival,” this performance will be presented at the Royal Albert Hall in London July 23 and can be seen and heard at BBC Four and BBC iPlayer.

May 7, 2024

Chamber Group Named Fischoff Quarterfinalist

The University of North Texas Center Woodwind Quintet was named quarterfinalist in the senior wind division of the 51st Annual Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition. The UNT ensemble coached by Associate Professor of Bassoon, Darrel Hale, includes graduate students Di Cao, flute; Hyungju Oh, oboe; Brandon Von, clarinet; Victoria Donaldson, bassoon and Samuel Himes, horn. The Fischoff National Chamber Music Association sponsors this, the United States' largest chamber music competition. UNT joins our friends and colleague programs named quarterfinalists from Northwestern, Arizona State, Michigan State and Indiana Universities along with Civic Orchestra of Chicago.

May 7, 2024

DMA and MBA Student Honored With Golden Eagle Award

Cherisse Williams, DMA in Voice and MBA student in Music Business, received the Golden Eagle Award created by UNT's Center for Leadership and Service and Division of Student Affairs. "The Golden Eagle Award is the most prestigious award that UNT bestows on a student leader." The award is inscribed, "For their impact on the University of North Texas through their Commitment to Co-curricular Involvement, Engagement in Service to the UNT and Greater Communities, Commitment to Impeccable Leadership and Achievement of Academic Excellence."

May 7, 2024

Clarinet Student Receives Fulbright

College of Music graduate clarinet student, Charlotte MacDonald, has been awarded a Fulbright United States Student Study-Research Award to Poland for the 2024-2025 academic year. She will be studying at the Krzysztof Penderecki Academy of Music in Kraków with clarinetist Barbara Borowicz - clarinetist and conducting research in Polish clarinet repertoire and pedagogy.

May 7, 2024

Graduate Presser Scholar Named

Júlia Coelho is a UNT doctoral candidate in vocal performance (DMA) and musicology (PhD) with related fields in early music and in music theory. This Presser Award supports a recording project of her song cycle-monodrama, “O Tempo fora do Tempo: uma viagem cronológica sobre o Tempo e Doença" (“Time Outside of Time: A Chronological Journey on Time and Illness,” 2023), written for Pierrot Ensemble and Júlia Coelho, soprano. The work sets her poetry written in European Portuguese to the music of composer Kory Reeder.

May 7, 2024

WFAA Airs Lyle Lovett Artist-in-Residence Story

The Dallas/Fort Worth ABC affiliate, WFAA showcased the visit of Lyle Lovett as artist-in-residence for the UNT College of Music. Take a look:. Photo shows him performing with UNT professor of jazz saxophone, Brad Leali, and the One O’Clock Lab Band, directed by UNT's #Alan Baylock and a quartet from the UNT Jazz Singers.

April 10, 2024

Music Business Faculty Named Finalist

The Music Business Association has named UNT College of Music Assistant Professor of Music Business, Jessica Muñiz-Collado, as finalist for its Bizzy Award “Music Business Educator of the Year." MBA says, “The award celebrates a music business educator who inspires students to enter the music business. The winner will lead by example and teach across the breadth and depth of the industry to open students’ awareness to the possibilities available in the music industry today. The winning candidate should expose students to the importance of connection and relationships in this industry while continuing to learn and be a part of the industry themselves.”

April 10, 2024

Theory Faculty Awarded National Endowment for the Humanities Grant

Assistant Professor of Music Theory, Andrew J. Chung, has been awarded a nine-month fellowship at the American Antiquarian Society, funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities, in Worcester, Massachusetts. Dr. Chung’s fellowship will assist him in the completion of his book, “Music’s Long Anthropocene: The Climate of Empire and the Sound of Ecological Disaster.”


April 10, 2024

Faculty Presents at International Conference in Switzerland

UNT Associate Professor of Piano Pedagogy, Oscar Macchioni, presented at the 46th International European Piano Teachers Association (EPTA) Conference at Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts in Switzerland. Pianists from 27 countries spent four days presenting and performing. Dr. Macchioni presented piano pedagogy curriculum for implementation in universities and conservatories.