Faculty and Staff

Our faculty of performers, composers, scholars and researchers are dedicated to providing our diverse student body with a rich musical environment and an excellent education through private lessons, large and small ensembles, mentoring, and highly interactive classes.

Our nearly 200 faculty and staff members include winners of prizes from the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Endowment for the Arts, Grammy Awards, Emmy Awards, Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, Guggenheim Fellowship, Fulbright Fellowship and soloists with opera companies and symphony orchestras across the globe.


Bruce Broughton

Media Composer-in-Residence

Richard DeRosa

Professor of Jazz Composition and Arranging
Director of Three O'Clock Lab Band

Rosana Eckert

Principal Lecturer of Vocal Jazz

Jeffrey Hepker

Assistant Professor of Commercial Music

Sungji Hong

Assistant Professor of Composition

Hee Yun Kim

Adjunct Instructor

Joseph Klein

Chair of the Division of Composition Studies
Distinguished Teaching Professor of Composition

Panayiotis Kokoras

Professor of Composition
Director of the Center for Experimental Music and Intermedia

Federico Llach

Assistant Professor of Commercial Music
Commercial Music Coordinator

Andrew May

Associate Professor of Compostion

Elizabeth McNutt

Director of Nova New Music Ensemble
Principal Lecturer - Flute

Zvony Nagy

Adjunct Instructor

Jon Nelson

Professor of Composition
Interim Chair of the Division of Composition Studies, Fall 2023
Coordinator of the Music Electronics Curriculum

Drew Schnurr

Assistant Professor in Composition and Media Arts

Kirsten Soriano

Associate Dean for Operations
Associate Professor of Composition

David Stout

Professor of Composition Studies
Coordinator for Initiative for Advanced Research in Technology and the Arts (iARTA)

Colleen Conlon

Senior Graduate Academic Counselor

Stephen Lucas

Lead Creative Programmer

Carol Pollard

Director of Undergraduate Advising

Laura Russell

Administrative Coordinator for the Division of Music History/Theory/Ethnomusicology (MHTE), Music Education and Composition Studies Divisions