UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

Main menu

David Heetderks

David Heetderks grew up near Washington, D.C. and Music Theory faculty of the Oberlin College Conservatory. He joins the music theory faculty of UNT College of Music in Fall 2018.

Dr. Heetderks is also an active composer, and received a Master’s degree in composition from the Yale School of Music, where his teachers included Ezra Laderman, David Del Tredici, and Alvin Singleton. He has written pieces for the Akropolis reed quintet, flautist Sergio Pallottelli, percussion trio Loop 2.4.3, Evan Ziporyn of Bang on a Can All-Stars, and others. Honors include a Young Composers award from ASCAP, a commission from the Renee B. Fisher competition for a solo piano work, and a commission from Connecticut division of the Music Teachers National Association.

His music has been featured at Music03 and Music05 in Cincinnati, the Orleans piano competition in France, and the EARPLAY series in Berkeley. Mr. Heetderks also creates works that employ his own capacities as a string player and improviser, such as Three’s a Crowd for one performer simultaneously playing the viola, playing the piano, and singing, and Ukifune Remix for solo viola and tape. Mr. Heetderks is former co-coordinator of Sound Underground, an annual festival of new music and poetry in Connecticut, which has been featured on radio station WPKN in Bridgeport.

As a music theorist, Dr. Heetderks researches popular music and the expansion of the tonal system in the first half of the twentieth century.