College of Music in the News

John Richmond

John Richmond Appointed for Second Term as Dean

Jennifer Cowley, PhD, UNT Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, recently announced that Dean John W. Richmond, PhD and Professor, has agreed to continue his service as Dean of the College of Music following his reappointment review. His second, five-year term begins August 1, 2021. According to Provost Crowley, “He has fostered the growth and quality of the student body, led the College in its strategic planning, supported new imaginative curricula, recruited new faculty and staff, and brought increased recognition to the College.”

David Portillo Headshot

Alumnus Performed Live from Chicago

David Portillo (MM ’05) and collaborative partner, Yasuko Oura featured Schumann’s Dichterliebe, a set of Roger Quilter songs and a performance of My Dearest Ruth, by Stacy Garrop during a streamed live from the salon of the historic Glessner House in Chicago.

MacMillan Selected as Mentor

Ann MacMillan, (upper left corner), coordinator of the #UNT instrument repair program, has been included as mentor on the 2020-21 Women+’s Mentoring Program of the North American Saxophone Alliance’s Committee on the Status of Women. Applicants selected will work with mentors to develop community engagement projects aimed at school-aged saxophonists, the elderly or under-resourced communities.


Division of Music Education Logo

Music Educator Job Placements

The UNT Division of Music Education had another banner year (2019-2020) of job placements for 48 recent graduates. See the list:

Bryan Aguilar, Crowley ISD; Amy Allmon, Troy ISD; Hannah Anthony, Saginaw ISD; Katrina Arabie, Burkburnett ISD; Tyler Atkins, Houston ISD; Sarah Grace Boyd, Jones Academy of Fine Arts and Dual Language; Luke Hahn, Brady ISD; Andrew Burris, Humble ISD; Marcus Cardenas, Irving ISD; Manuel Cardona, Denton ISD; Melinda Coleman, Lubbock-Cooper ISD; Kathryn Davidson, Irving ISD; Katherine Dickerson, Venus ISD; Melanie Gorsalitz, Klein ISD; Julia Gray, Gainesville ISD; Jacob Guerrero, Belton ISD; Valeria Gulino, Lake Dallas ISD; Leah Gulley, Lewisville ISD; Emily Frederickson Hahn, Brady ISD; Olivia Havel, Northwest ISD; Jordan Haynes, Archdiocese of San Antonio; Reilly Hensley, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD; Katy Hinton - Irving ISD; Frances Jimenez, Del Valle ISD; Jay Lopez, Pflugerville ISD; Brandon Lucio - Allen ISD; Emma McClure, Plano ISD; Allie Mahmood, Arlington ISD; Max Mollenkamp, Frisco ISD; Alan Olmos, Granbury ISD; Ryan Oster, Jarrell ISD; Samantha Pendleton, Midlothian ISD; Iris Quezada - Austin ISD; Valerie Quezada, Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD; Brandon Rios, Galena Park ISD; Andres Rodriguez, Dallas ISD; Philip Roth, Frisco ISD; Miranda Saenz, Rowlett ISD; Hayley Scoggins, Klein ISD; Joseph Sheehan, Plainview ISD; Hunger Smith, Wylie ISD; Michael Solis, Sinton ISD; Nicholas Standish, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD; Sam Sweet, Garland ISD; Sarah Vander Meulen, Teague ISD; Esther Wang - Frisco ISD; Tristan Willard, Electra ISD; Abigail Young, Port Chester Union Free School District (NY).

Thomas Schwan

DMA Student Wins Competition

Thomas Schwan, DMA student in piano performance, won First Prize in the 2020 World Bach Competition - Keyboard & Plucked Instruments Professional Category with 273 musicians from 39 countries taking part organized by the Boulder Bach Festival.


Scharnberg Retires as Editor

After 17 years, University of North Texas Regents Professor Emeritus of French Horn, William Scharnberg, has retired as Editor of The Horn Call, the official publication of the International Horn Society.

Traschel conducting symphonic band

Andrew Trachsel appointed Chair of the Division of Conducting and Ensembles

Associate Professor of Wind Studies and Conductor of the Wind Orchestra, Andrew Trachsel, was appointed Chair of the Division of Conducting and Ensembles. He began his four-year term serving the students, faculty and staff of the division overseeing the areas of Choral Studies, Early Music Studies, Opera Studies, Orchestral Studies and Wind Studies.

Francis Cathlina Headshot

Doctoral Student Ensemble Honored

Centennial High School A Cappella Choir in Frisco, Texas, formerly directed by UNT DMA student Francis Cathlina, received third place in the 2019-2020 high school division of the American Prize in Choral Performance.

James Franklin Headshot

Alumni Choir Places Second

The East Carolina University Chamber Singers, directed by James Franklin (DMA ’14) was awarded second place in the 2019-2020 college/university division of the American Prize in Choral Performance.

Hypnomancy - pink abstract shapes against grey background

David Stout's Hypnomancy Premiered

“A visual music performance that evokes the dream state as a field for divination, interdimensional time travel and superconscious transformation.” UNT Professor of Composition Studies and Coordinator for Initiative for Advanced Research in Technology and the Arts (iARTA).

Seth Carter

Seth Carter Wins Awards

Junior, Seth Carter, won the Tuba Artist Gold Medal and received the Leonard Falcone Tribute Award from the 2020 Leonard Falcone International Euphonium and Tuba Festival.

World Music Pedagogy Cover

William J. Coppola Releases Book

Assistant Professor of Music Education, William J. Coppola releases World Music Pedagogy, Volume VII: Teaching World Music in Higher Education along with David G. Hebert and Patricia Shehan Campbell

Live at National Sawdust Album Cover

Davy Mooney Releases Album

Davy Mooney, Assistant Professor of Jazz Guitar, released "Live at National Sawdust" from the Sunnyside Label - "St. Paul's" - Davy Mooney and the Hope of Home Band.

Sergio Pamies

Jazz Alumnus to Cincinnati

Sergio Pamies, (MM ’11, DMA ’16), joined the faculty of University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music as Assistant Professor of Jazz Piano.

国家大剧院 National Centre for the Performing Arts Interview cover

UNT Faculty Mentioned in Chinese Publication

An interview with the 国家大剧院 National Centre for the Performing Arts, Andrew May, Associate Professor of Composition and David Stout, Professor of Composition Studies and Coordinator for Initiative for Advanced Research in Technology and the Arts (iARTA), speak to their experience with creating music using artificial intelligence.