April 6, 2022

Alumnus Lyle Mays Wins 11th Grammy Award

The late Lyle Mays (1953-2020), announced as the WINNER for Best Instrumental Composition for “Eberhard.” As a UNT student, he composed and arranged the music for the One O'Clock Lab Band®’s album Lab ’75, which was nominated for a Grammy Award. He was nominated for 24 Grammys – winning 10 as a member of the Pat Metheny Group and receiving a nomination for the first of his five solo albums. He performed with Joni Mitchell and the group Earth, Wind & Fire. In 2010, he was in residency as part of the Glenn E. Gomez International Artists Endowment for Jazz Studies.