Welcome to the Division of Music History, Theory, and Ethnomusicology

Frank Heidlberger, Chair

The Division of Music History, Theory, and Ethnomusicology is a vibrant contributor to the College of Music. MHTE maintains a full range of academic programs from the bachelor's to the doctorate. In fact, the Ph.D. program, celebrating more than a half-century of activity, was the first in the university. Today more than 70 students are enrolled in its graduate programs.

The division offers the B.A. in Music with an emphasis in Music History; the B.M. in Music Theory, the Master of Arts in Music with concentrations in musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, and musicology with an emphasis in early music performance; the Ph.D. in Music with concentrations in music theory, and musicology.

As a hub of academic activity, the division fosters a wide range of projects and initiatives. Students are encouraged to take advantage of our faculty's vast expertise in historical musicology, theory, and ethnomusicology. Division faculty members have been recognized with significant awards for outstanding teaching, research, service and the promotion of diversity in teaching and across campus. Read More


Area Coordinators:
Danny Arthurs, Music Theory
Steven Friedson, Ethnomusicology
Bernardo Illari, Music History

For additional information about our programs, please contact Prof. Frank M. Heidlberger, division chair, at frank.heidlberger@unt.edu.

MHTE News and Events

September, 2014

MHTE 2014/15 School Year Convocation

MHTE students and faculty are invited to attend the MHTE Division Convocation, Wednesday, September 10, 4-5pm, Room 258. Come and greet incoming students, welcome new faculty members, hear news about activities of the new school year, chat with faculty and classmates, and enjoy pizza and refreshments!

Syndicate content