Bright Angel: American Works for Clarinet and Piano—Kimberly Cole Luevano

SKU: 856092001193
Album Image: 
Price: $15.00

On the 2013 recording "Bright Angel," clarinetist Kimberly Cole Luevano offers stunning performances of some of the most virtuosic new works for clarinet by women composers. Luevano teams up with pianist Midori Koga (University of Toronto) on Roshanne Etezady's Bright Angel, Joan Tower's Fantasy … those harbor lights and Libby Larsen's Licorice Stick. Soprano Lindsay Kesselman joins on Abbie Betinis' haunting song cycle in Norwegian, Nattsanger.

    Bright Angel (World Premiere Recording)
    Roshanne Etezady (b. 1973)

  1. Lookout
  2. Phantom
  3. Kiva
  4. Hermit’s Rest
  5. Bright Angel
  6. Nattsanger (World Premiere Recording)
    Abbie Betinis (b. 1980)

  7. Aftenroden (Red sunset)
  8. Når de sover (When they sleep)
  9. Mose, rust, og møll (Moss, rust, and moths)
  10. Lavmaelt (Whispered)
  11. Lyktestolpen (Streetlamp)
  12. Nattmusikk (Night Music)
  13. Sjøfugl (Seabirds)
  14. Fantasy (….those harbor lights)
    Joan Tower (b. 1938)
  15. Licorice Stick
    Libby Larsen (b. 1950)
  16. Kimberly Cole Luevano, clarinet
    Midori Koga, piano
    Lindsay Kesselman, soprano

    Recorded in Paul Voertman Concert Hall, Denton, Texas on May23-26, 2012

    Executive Producers—Joanne Castellani, Michael Andriaccio, Kimberly Cole Luevano; Producer—Rachel Yoder; Session Engineer—Sarah Bruguière; Editing and Mastering-- Sarah Bruguière.

Proceeds benefit the UNT Clarinet Studio