

University of North Texas College of Music

Guest Recital | Tuesday, July 9, 2024 | 7:30 PM | Paul Voertman Concert Hall

Dallas MusiK Society

Piano Trio in A Major, Hob.XV:35 (c. 1750)............... Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809)

Gyuwan Kim, piano, Seowon Lee, violin, Kyungiin Yoo, cello

Piano Trio No.1 in D minor op.32 (1894) Anton Arensky (1861 – 1906)

1. Allegro moderato

4. Finale. Allegro non troppo

Sangsoo Kim, piano, Yeji Kim, violin, Nayeon Kim, cello

Youna Hartgraves, soprano, Yongseok Kwon, piano

Piano Trio No. 1, Op. 8, in C minor (1923)Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 – 1975)

Prelude: Adagio [Fugue]: Allegro Allemande

Jin Ah Kwon, piano, Mikyung Kim Kwon, violin, Su Eun Park, cello

Dallas MusiK Society

The Dallas MusiK Society is a group of professional musicians founded in 2021.

Many members have doctoral degrees or are pursuing advanced studies in music. Members teach at esteemed institutions such as Texas Woman's University, Dallas College and Tarrant College. Additionally, several members contribute their talents to renowned orchestras, including the Dallas Opera, Sherman Symphony Orchestra, and Richardson Orchestra. Many members also maintain their own private studios, further enriching the collective expertise.

Driven by a deep passion for music, DMKS is dedicated to both nurturing emerging talent and enriching the local community through the exploration of chamber music, often overlooked yet essential in its contribution to musical heritage.

It's worth noting that we've had the privilege of performing at UNT ISMI's Guest Faculty Concert since last year, a testament to our ongoing commitment to musical excellence and our active role in community education and engagement.

Four music groups perform this evening, each focused on presenting a diverse array of music. From duos to trios. Ensemble members, including eleven talented performers, will join forces to deliver captivating performances that showcase the richness and variety of musical expression.

The individuals participating in this concert include Gyuwan Kim, Jin Ah Kwon, Kyungjin Yoo, Nayeon Kim, Mikyung Kim Kwon, Sangsoo Kim, Seowon Lee, Su Eun Park, Yeji Kim, Yongseok Kwon and Youna Hartgraves.

