Faculty and Staff

Our faculty of outstanding and internationally recognized performers, composers, scholars and researchers is dedicated to providing our diverse student body with a rich musical environment and an excellent education through private lessons, large and small ensembles, and highly interactive classes.

Our more than 100 full-time faculty members include winners of the Grammy Award, the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition and soloists with world-renowned opera companies and symphony orchestras.


Maria Schleuning

Adjunct Instructor of Violin

Drew Schnurr

Assistant Professor in Composition and Media Arts

Hendrik Schulze

Associate Professor of Music History

James Scott

Dean Emeritus
Adjunct Professor of Flute

Lynn Seaton

Professor of Bass

Stephen Slottow

Associate Professor of Music Theory

Ed Smith

Adjunct Professor of Vibraphone
Director of the Bwana Kumala Gamelan Ensemble

Jeffrey Snider

Associate Professor of Voice

Thomas Sovík

Professor of Music Theory

Richard Sparks

Chair of Conducting and Ensembles
Professor of Conducting
Director of Collegium Singers
Director of University Singers

Michael Steinel

Professor of Jazz Trumpet

David Stout

Professor of Composition Studies
Coordinator for Initiative for Advanced Research in Technology and the Arts (iARTA)

Terri Sundberg

Professor of Flute

Linda Strube

Assistant for Concert Programs